The six former Soviet republics (and the respective “frozen conflicts” related to them) targeted by the Eastern Partnership are: Armenia (Syunik province and the proposed Zangezur corridor claimed by Azerbaijan), Azerbaijan (Nagorno-Karabakh), Belarus (unofficial: the Grodno region in the west of the country), Georgia (Abkhazia and South Ossetia), Moldova (Transdniester) and Ukraine (Donetsk, Lugansk and Crimea).

The role of the Eastern Partnership in relation to so-called frozen conflicts and Caspian-Sea-to-Black-Sea energy corridors was addressed in this article of over 12 years ago:

Eastern Partnership: The West’s Final Assault on the Former Soviet Union


Aurescu: Romania suggested to include frozen conflicts from countries of the Eastern Partnership on the agenda of the Foreign Affairs Council

According to him, the meeting agenda also includes a proposal supported by Romania to include in the future Eastern Partnership package an increased coordination in what concerns the security dimension.

“Five out of six countries of the Eastern Partnership are facing frozen conflicts on their territory and Romania suggested to include these conflicts on the agenda of the Foreign Affairs Council,” explained the Minister…..