This is part of the West’s unfinished business following the dissolution of the Soviet Union in 1991. What the U.S., NATO and the EU routinely refer to as resolution of frozen conflicts in occupied territories (the exact term used): Abkhazia, Crimea, Donetsk, Lugansk, Nagorno-Karabakh, South Ossetia, Transdniester and perhaps later Kaliningrad, East Karelia, Gagauzia, the western region of Belarus, the Kuril Islands and Chechnya, Dagestan and Ingushetia in the North Caucasus.


Polish FM warns of ‘possible’ new Russian invasion of Ukraine

Polish Foreign Minister Zbigniew Rau has warned that Russia may be plotting a new attack on neighboring Ukraine as Moscow builds up forces along their shared border.

…Rau said that NATO officials had issued similar warnings.

Referring to Moscow’s aggression against Georgia in 2008 and Ukraine in 2014, he added that “Russia’s policy towards its neighbors mostly boils down to the revision of borders.”

US Secretary of State Antony Blinken said earlier this month that “a rehash” of the 2014 aggression against Ukraine would be “a serious mistake” for Russia.