Turkey joined the North Atlantic Treaty Organization in 1952 along with Greece after both nations had served their apprenticeship by deploying troops for the Korean War. Three years later Turkey became the main pivot in the founding of the Central Treaty Organization, modeled after NATO.
A year earlier the Southeast Asia Treaty Organization, also modeled after NATO, was formed.
Founding NATO member Britain was a member of the Central Treaty Organization and both Britain and France were members of the Southeast Asia Treaty Organization, making both blocs essentially extensions of NATO.
Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN): Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam


Daily Sabah
April 22, 2022

Turkey, Indonesia foster close, strong cooperation: FM Çavuşoğlu

Turkey and Indonesia enjoy “close and strong” cooperation, Foreign Minister Mevlüt Çavuşoğlu said Friday in Ankara.

Addressing the inauguration ceremony of the new Indonesian Embassy building, Çavuşoğlu said despite the large distance between them, the friendship between the two nations dates back to the 15th century.

Speaking alongside his visiting Indonesian counterpart Retno Marsudi, Çavuşoğlu underlined that bilateral relations were recently upgraded to a “strategic partnership” and that since the mutual establishment of embassies in the late 1950s, ties between the countries have continually improved.


Visit to Jakarta

Çavuşoğlu also said that they are preparing for an official visit to Indonesia by President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan.

“We will be signing almost 20 documents and agreements (during the visit) and we are negotiating on them as well,” he said.